Making Christmas Gifts

Standard

Dearest Sultana,

A few months ago I came across a book by Kajsa Wikman it’s called Scandinavian Stitches.

Scandinavian Stitches

I loved this book. Its by a Scandinavian artist who creates lots of simple but adorable fabric products. She uses a lot of free form sewing and her style is bold but naive like a child’s drawing. I love her use of colours and I love that her projects are simple enough even for me to attempt. I love the idea of sewing but I am still at a very basic skill level.

In her book, I fell in love with her animal pouches and the idea of a picture made with scrap bits of fabric sewn free form.

Animal pouch

Animal pouch

I got so inspired that I decided, this year instead of boring vouchers, I’ll make my Christmas presents for mum and my two sisters.

I’ve already decided that I’ll be making syko style animal pouches but in a smaller size, big enough to put some coins and ATM cards for my sisters with their Chinese animal signs on the front (Horse and Rabbit) and for mom a feminine green pouch with a little bird on the front.

Also, because this year we will finally be spending our Christmas holiday together in Kerikeri,  I thought I’d make a summer bag with summer things sewn on the front. I’m thinking, strawberries, ice cream cones, maybe kiwifruit, jandals, ice cold cups of lemon tea and snappers (because there will be “guided kayak fishing trips” by my husband). I am so looking forward to our trip. There will be a huge farmers market to attend, a swimming pool for the girls at the place we’re staying, cocktails by the pool for the aunts and me, fishing for the husband (and the rest of us too of course), exploring Kerikeri, Paihia and maybe Russell. Oh and we’ll be celebrating my birthday there and the husband has promised fresh crayfish for the birthday dinner. (He is busy researching this, fingers crossed.)

I’ll tell you more about the progress of my Christmas presents as I go. I think I’ll start with making the fabric applique bits. I’m really excited about this!

//

One response »

  1. Pingback: Christmas Gifts – I need a darning foot | Dearest Sultana

Leave a Reply

