A Productive Trip to the Library

Standard

Dearest Sultana,
I’ve had such a productive morning! Dropped off May at school, then drove straight to the local library and picked up the book’s I’ve ordered. I’ve put down an order for quite a few bag making books, to get ideas for the bags I’ll be making for my Christmas pressies.
Here they are:

Today's haul

Today’s haul

I’ll tell you more about them once I’ve had a skim through. They also had a Peppa Pig DVD we haven’t watched yet. So that will be a little treat for the girls.
I always get so excited when my book orders arrive and almost rush down to pick them up immediately. I love our local library system. Ever since the councils in Auckland city were amalgamated into one central council, all the libraries have effectively been merged which means I can order any book in any of the 52 libraries. It is rare for me to search for a book and not find it in their system. And the service is free!
While at the library, we joined the Rhymetime session, June did some singing and dancing, and there was some story telling. Today it was “We are going on a Bear Hunt” and by the time we got home… she was all set for her nap.
Here is a picture of something May drew in school last week:

My favourite thing is to go to the bookshop

My favourite thing is to go to the bookshop

I love this! And I love that that is her favourite thing. When I was little, I don’t think I’ve ever been to a library. I’m not sure why. I know Mum used to tell me lots of stories, mostly verbally, sometimes from books. Mum was a great story teller (still is), and even when she tells them from books, she would make up the story, so the story changes everytime she tells it. She tells lovely stories to my two munchkins now. Maybe libraries were just not accessible where I grew up. So I make it a point to take the girls to the library, we usually go at least once a week.
We have a lovely library in Birkenhead. It has the best views of the city from it’s giant glass windows and a beautiful children’s section. There are often activities on offer and a little playground right outside.
Recently May has been interested in Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren. She watched it as a play a few months back with Grandma and we discussed how when I was her age I used to love Pippi Longstocking too. We ordered a book from the library and it finally arrived about a week ago. We’ve been slowly reading through it during our bedtime story. Did you know that it was published in 1945! Wow, I had no idea! Even when I was little, it was already a classic.

As illustrated by Lauren Child
Before Pippi Longstocking, May was really into fairy tales, she didn’t really care for them earlier, but when her German grandparents were here, they introduced these to her and we’ve been reading the same fairy tales with lots of different variations for months. So I’m rather pleased that she is now interested in something new. Although I’m sure that we will always return to Fairy Tales and their variations.

please don't eat me
June loves books about fish, whenever her Daddy comes home from his fishing trips, she must inspect his catch and whenever she sees any fish (dead or alive or on print), she will call them Daddy’s fish. This is one of our favourite’s, Please Don’t Eat Me by Roger de Muth.

//

Leave a Reply

