Blogtember Thur 12.9

Standard

Thursday, September 12: Discuss ways that blogging or social media has changed you.

Blogtember200_zps4672ae9b

I only just started blogging a few weeks ago. Even so it’s already made quite an impact in my life.

Before i started this blog, some days I would feel a little bit down. It’s just being a stay at home mum sometimes, feels a bit like a thankless job. There is never ending work, and yet by the end of the day, there isn’t really much to show for it. When I was still working, I would come home tired but at least I felt like I was contributing to our household and to the community. That is not to say, that I think that by being a stay at home mum, I am not contributing or doing something worthwhile, of course I know that I am. I know that I am making an important investment in our daughters’ life and most of the time, I really enjoy being with them and watching all their new discoveries. Just on some days, when the kids are screaming at each other, there are two huge baskets of dirty laundry to wash, the house is in complete disarray and I’m trying to cook dinner, I feel like hiding away in our garage.

Since I started blogging, inside my head I’m constantly thinking about new things to talk about, I am having little conversations in my head which is nice when most of the time my conversations are with my two year old. Since writing for blogtember, I’ve become more retrospective, looking at my life so far and it’s good to be reminded to enjoy the journey and stop looking too far ahead at the destination. It’s made me feel good about myself.

My creative life has also become more purposeful. Before I would take weeks and months to complete a project, sometimes when I get frustrated with it, I’d just put it away and forget about it. Since the blog though, I feel a greater urge to finish it, I feel I have to be accountable for what I’ve started. I’ve done more research, and given more thought to my creations. I have become more organised with my time, setting some time during June’s nap or after the kids are asleep. It has become more satisfying in every way.

One of the best things about blogging, is that it’s opened up a whole new world of blogs to me. I have been reading blogs for years, and I really enjoy them but until recently I have just been a silent reader. Since starting this blog I’ve felt how gratifying it is to get a “like” or a comment and I’ve actively worked on becoming a part of this blogging community. What a buzz it is to comment and get a reply!  Or to write a post and have someone comment on it.

Thank you to all who have been to my blog or who’s blog I’ve visited. You have been so welcoming and kind and warm.

keyboard

//

2 responses »

  1. I agree with you! I myself have just started blogging and it’s rewarding to see other bloggers (like you!) liking and leaving comments on my posts. It’s amazin how a busy mom like you can squeeze in blogging & crafting in your schedule 🙂 Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

