Enchiladas

Standard

Dearest Sultana,

I made my enchiladas for dinner last night.

Here’s the recipe from comfortcookingabroad:

Ingredients for 8 servings

1 batch corn tortillas (recipe can be found here)

2 chicken breast – fully cooked and shredded

2 – 6 dried chiles depending on taste

1 1/2 cups very hot water

1 12 oz can tomato sauce

salt and pepper to taste

1/4 tsp cinnamon

2 cups cheese

I put the chiles into the oven and very quickly they became quite fragrant and inflated. After I removed the stalks and seeds, I poured boiling hot water on them and let it steep for an hour.

sguF6DMSWpQQ2ehPUV_nPRFPFU1TAYCfLPXFGyge5zixnbohUhOGxKsAWbDZyrn1Hw=w1008-h781

After an hour, the steeping water has become quite dark red and when I opened the chiles there was indeed some flesh which was easy enough to scrape off.

I put the scraped off flesh, steeping water as well as the rest of the ingredients (except for the cheese) into a big bowl and left it for about an hour.

After that I wrapped them up into the corn enchiladas (store bought).

n63M9RfrGG7dhufbnmaSQmx12DO0zk-DQ5VYv75f9jw3YMO7yjDZdmK6gUTRzb1FKQ=w1008-h781

Put them all into the oven covered with the cheese and let it cook for about 20-30mins.

They looked really quite good (but I forgot to take a picture) but when we ate them they were all soggy! I should have drained the sauce from the chicken mixture before wrapping them. Also, it was not hot (spicy) at all. I think I picked the wrong Chile… They had so many at the shop. This one was called California” and must have been a mild one. There really was no flavour, hot or otherwise to it.

The next morning, still a little sad about how the enchiladas turned out (and with some leftover chicken mix in the fridge) I thought I’d try it again but this time with the chicken properly squeezed so it won’t turn out so soggy.

Here is the outcome:

A little bit burned (but in a good way)

A little bit burned (but in a good way)

They did turn out much better, unfortunately taste wise, still a bit bland.

It was a good experience though. I wonder if I can use the Chinese dried chillies… I have got a bag full of those so may experiment in the future. I am not giving up 🙂

2 responses »

    • I think my canned tomato was too watery… The whole mix was really rather watery and I didn’t make any attempt reducing the water as I wrapped them. The second batch was much better, only the Chile didn’t live up to expectation, I probably picked the mildest flavoured one available, there wasn’t any explanation on the packaging and the place was so packed I didn’t think about asking any questions. Don’t worry, I will try this again with a different chile 🙂

Leave a Reply

